Meadow Ridge Elementary principal receives leadership award

The Minnesota Elementary School Principals’ Association has recognized Karen Keffeler, principal of Meadow Ridge Elementary, with the 2017 Division Leadership Achievement Award.


According to the association, the award honors principals whose exemplary leadership and sustained efforts have made noteworthy contributions to the operation of effective school learning programs — improving education, their communities and their profession.

Keffeler was recognized by colleagues statewide Feb. 2 during MESPA Institute, the annual statewide convention of Minnesota’s elementary and middle level principals.

Among Keffeler’s career accomplishments are: Planning for and opening Meadow Ridge Elementary in the Wayzata School District, including planning the design, hiring the staff and creating the vision; working with staff at Sunset Hill Elementary to maintain and increase students’ level of academic proficiency; receiving the Department of Education Reward School designation for five consecutive years.

Jon Millerhagen, executive director of the association, congratulated the 12 award winners by saying, “MESPA members who receive the Division Leadership Achievement Award are the heart and soul of their schools, their communities and our association. They are true leaders who empower their schools to be successful. Our association benefits greatly from their wisdom, energy, expertise and commitment.”