League of Minnesota Cities honors Youakim and Latz

The League of Minnesota Cities has selected 31 state lawmakers, including Rep. Cheryl Youakim (DFL-Hopkins) and Sen. Ron Latz (DFL-St. Louis Park), as “Legislators of Distinction” for 2016. The honor recognizes legislators for specific actions that aided efforts of Minnesota cities during the past year’s legislative session.

Legislators of Distinction are approved annually by the league’s board of directors. To be eligible for the honor, legislators must achieve one or more of the following criteria, as judged by the league: Be generally and reasonably accessible to league representatives, seek input on issues of importance to cities, listen to league concerns and be receptive to league-provided information on issues, sponsor or support league initiatives, speak out on behalf of the interest of cities, or work to demonstrate the importance of partnership between the state and cities.

Youakim contacted the league multiple times throughout session to hear league positions and to understand more fully the implications of legislative proposals. Latz was honored for “authoring the body camera bill, which was one of the league’s legislative priorities. He was accessible to league staff and asked for city positions as legislation was being debated and discussed.”

Recipients of the recognition received a letter of appreciation and a certificate. Additionally, a copy of the Legislator of Distinction acknowledgement letter was sent to the mayor of each city in the district of each award winner. Youakim’s district is located in Hopkins and St. Louis Park.

The League of Minnesota Cities is a membership organization dedicated to helping cities throughout Minnesota build quality communities through effective advocacy, expert analysis, trusted guidance, and collective action.

The League of Minnesota Cities serves its more than 830 member cities through advocacy, education and training, policy development, risk management and other services.

Info: lmc.org.